Courageous

I haven’t been writing because I’ve been having such a struggle to even stay on my feet lately. I have felt my energy draining away. I’ve been experiencing sudden faintness – like when I climb several stairs, I get so light-headed I have to sit down. There’s nothing quite as frustrating (and exhausting) as knowing something is wrong in your body, and not having any idea what it is. I’ve had seemingly countless needle sticks as the doctor has done test after test. I even joked with my husband that I was developing needle tracks and people were going to suspect that I was using drugs. I had a CT scan and a chest X-ray, but everything was normal. And then finally – my doctor ordered an EKG, and it was abnormal. Now, having an abnormal EKG isn’t really something to celebrate, but at least we had found a clue in this great mystery.

Next came a treadmill stress test, the one and only purpose of which is to detect clogged arteries. Well – my arteries aren’t clogged. In fact, the cardiologist told me I was “fit” which nearly caused me to laugh out loud (see the above comment about having to sit down while climbing stairs). During the test, as he was explaining what to expect, he told me my blood pressure would rise. The diastolic would level out at 90 (which it did) and the systolic would continue to rise throughout the test (which it did, until….). About seven minutes into the test, when I was working really hard – going 3.5 mph at a 14% incline – I nearly fainted. The systolic suddenly dropped 50 points, and the diastolic 30. This was, apparently, unusual. The advice of the cardiologist as I was leaving the hospital was to “get my head down if I felt faint.” Really. That’s what he left me with.

Over the next few days, in talking to my doctor I learned that she had ordered a med study and consulted my oncologist. The suspicion is that my cancer treatment has caused damage to my heart. And so today, I had an echocardiogram (a sonogram of the heart) to look at valves, blood flow, and my heart’s general structure. I have no results, but at least the test is done.

Now, with my cancer, I felt very little fear or worry. As I would approach each new step, I mostly felt … nothing. I don’t know if this was peace, faith or simply ignorant bliss, but that’s how it was. This is different. Yesterday, I was just trying not to think about it, but I felt uneasy. I spent some time trolling facebook and saw a post on my niece’s wall that said, “Josh 1:9 Have not I commanded you? Be strong & of a good courage don’t be afraid don’t be dismayed for the LORD ur God is w/ u wherever u go.” I hate to admit this, but I burst into tears. I mean seriously, I was sobbing. I realized, quite suddenly, how alone I felt in all this. I didn’t feel God with me at all. This was just too much – hadn’t I been through enough already? Where was He? I finally confessed how angry I felt that I couldn’t just be healthy. Why this? Why my heart?

After I’d finished spewing, I ultimately said, “God help me. I need to know you’re with me.”

And then I went about my day. God is God and He speaks in very strange ways at times, and this is what happened. Just after dinner I was putting a load of dress shirts in the laundry. Hanging on a nearby rack was a little craft my youngest daughter had made, a circle of card stock hanging on a string that she could wear like a necklace, and it caught my eye. I have no idea when she made it. I have no idea how long it had been hanging there. I had never looked at it before. But it grabbed my attention in the most bizarre way, so I reached out for it. On one side was her name spelled out in glitter. And on the other it said …

Trust me dear reader, this was God speaking. I felt an immediate, palpable calm settle over me. I knew I was not alone. So, today is not much different than yesterday. I still don’t know what’s going on. I still feel kind of awful. In real terms, nothing has changed, with the exception of one thing.

Today, I am courageous.

Leave a Reply

