Day 116 ~ All Things (well – Something anyway) Made New

I’ve made some measurable progress this week. For one, I finally – with my husband’s help – got several bags ready for charity. We’re keeping the cat.

simplicity

I’ve also been practicing Redeeming the Time – you know, grabbing ten free minutes here and there to do little tasks. By using this approach I’ve reclaimed a small counter in my kitchen. Now, I must explain, there is a deep-seated problem that resides within my very soul that leads to a counter that looks like this. It’s hard to see, but under the clean food containers and the bread items, in the back, is the epicenter of this mess. It’s a wire basket full of junk. Well, not junk really, but stuff. I toss things in there, like coupons, business cards, things I want to look at later. (You can see how accessible it is. And please understand, my whole kitchen does not look like this). But the problem (the one in my soul) is this – pretty soon the basket is overflowing, I never pull anything out to look at it again because it’s disorganized, and soon it becomes a permanent fixture in my decorating scheme. I walk by it 18 times a day, and never, ever look at it. The result? I’ve lost the counter.

simplicity

So I finally did something about it. I got a three-ring-binder, I put tabs in it, and I now have a place for – – > current coupons, reference information, take-out menus, and contact information. And it fits next to my cookbooks on the bookcase. Now the basket has oranges in it and is sitting on my dining room table. I don’t know why it took me – you know – YEARS to take care of this. But now it’s done. My counter is new. And I am happy.

simplicity

4 thoughts on “Day 116 ~ All Things (well – Something anyway) Made New

  1. Robin says:

    Very nice…You know I have similar issues, but being married to Chris doesn’t allow me to ever get to the point of total clutter (except with my books) — he freaks out when things are even approaching that stage, and since I don’t like dealing with the freak out, I start organizing earlier. 😉 But the books…well, I think they’re on the verge of taking over the house again, and I’m waiting for the freak-out to begin…

  2. You need to make some part of your house a library – you’ve got the space. Wouldn’t that be fabulous?

  3. Few things make me as happy as a clean surface.

Leave a Reply

