Day 63 ~ Satisfaction

The best things in life are nearest:  Breath in your nostrils, light in your eyes, flowers at your feet, duties at your hand, the path of right just before you.  Then do not grasp at the stars, but do life’s plain, common work as it comes, certain that daily duties and daily bread are the sweetest things in life.  ~Robert Louis Stevenson

sipmlicity

Spring is in the air.

Once, at the women’s Bible study I go to twice a month, I was bemoaning the drudgery of running a home. No task is ever completed. One does the same things over and over and over. I sometimes feel that I was created for something else, something that would use what I perceive as my giftedness. But instead, I’m asked to operate in the area of my greatest weakness all the time by managing a home and educating my children, activities which require organizational and administrative skills that are in want. Well, a very wise friend gave me this advice that day. She said I should live life like a monk. She said that everything my hand finds to do, I should do as an act of worship to God. In that moment, I felt my perspective shift. If those things I find painful and occasionally mind-numbing, actually bring glory to God, well… it gives them infinitely more value. But the clincher is this – if God really receives those actions as acts of worship, then the act itself takes on a spiritual component. Doing the laundry becomes quietly honorable, because no one else may see it for what it is, but the Lord does. Laying aside what I want to do, in order to do what must be done, becomes not just a sacrifice, but a sacrificial act of worship.
Today was a day of “have-tos.” I had to take my little girl to the doctor. Then I had to spend twenty minutes convincing her to swallow the antibiotic, all the while she’s weeping and I’m telling her she’s brave. I felt a bit defeated knowing we had to do this twenty-nine more times, but tonight’s dose only took about 30 seconds. (Maybe it was the homemade chocolate milkshake chaser I made…) I had to buy groceries, and I had to make dinner, and a variety of other things that were non-negotiable. I never got to my action items. Hence, the Stevenson quote. Even when my well-thought-out plans go awry, I know the best things in life surround me – my husband and children, my extended family and friends, books that I love, a family dinner table that brings us together, a teen-aged daughter who likes to spend time with me, coffee (yes, coffee) and healthful food at my fingertips, and a deep and abiding knowledge that God loves me like crazy. It’s like a little miracle, but doing “life’s plain, common work as it comes” really does increase the pleasure of all these things in my life – especially when I do them with an eye toward eternity. I am satisfied. And, after all, there’s always tomorrow…

2 thoughts on “Day 63 ~ Satisfaction

  1. Robin says:

    Very interesting — I didn’t realize you felt like this (well, the positive side I knew — You are very good at finding the silver linings). I’m fortunate, I know, to be working at a job I truly enjoy (which can be done from home) — and to have the time to spend at the kiddos’ school helping out (which is also something I truly enjoy). Of course, I don’t enjoy cooking or planning meals…nor do I excel at them. But I definitely aim to enjoy the moment, whatever it brings, and live 🙂

  2. That’s right. Sometimes it takes discipline to enjoy the moment, letting go of the past and even worries about the future. But, it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

