Day 60 ~ The Quiet Voice of Courage

simplicityI’ve been at this now for a couple of months, and I figure it’s a good time to take stock.

I’ll start with the positive things. My daily routine has become just that – routine. I almost never skip those few things that keep the house running smoothly. This includes morning exercise, 10-minute tidy, kitchen and 90-second hard surface clean in the bathrooms. It’s amazing to me, now that the system is in place, how easily I’m keeping up.

The morning exercise is having a great effect – along with reducing sugar intake. Increasing hydration isn’t going as well, which should be the easiest thing I do, but, well… I’ll keep working on that. I stepped on the scale yesterday and I’ve lost twelve pounds (hopefully to never, ever be found again). I actually had a fabulous little moment this morning. It’s quite nice here – in the 50’s and sunny, so I pulled a lightweight, long-sleeve cotton shirt out to wear. The last time I wore this it was fall, and I had to wear it open with a tank top under it because it wouldn’t button without straining in a very unattractive way. Today, it buttoned with no problem and is hanging loosely on me. This makes me happy.

The thing I’m really struggling with is using my notebook to keep a to-do list and an ongoing list of three daily action items. I did so well with this at first, but I find I’m keeping more and more of my tasks in my head (where they inevitably get lost). I need to revamp this and try again, so I’m going back to the original plan of reviewing my day right before bed each night. I’ll review my lists and make my action list for the next day right then, when there are no distractions. The added benefit of this is that I can release anything knocking around in my brain by writing it down, which will encourage relaxation and a good sleep. I started afresh today, with two items on my action item list that contribute to organization and peace. The first (which is already done) was to clean out my email inbox. I deleted 1,056 emails today!!! (You think I’m joking…) Whew! The second is to collect all the little piles of things I have to give to charity, box or bag them, and put them in one place.

I know no matter how many times I trip up, as long as I stand back up and go again, I will see change and progress. That’s pretty exciting. With this in mind, I think it’s appropriate to end with this quote:

“Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow.'” ~ Mary Anne Radmacher

Leave a Reply

