Day 4

Today is Thursday, and Thursday is a push day for my family. My youngest daughter and I go to our homeschool commonwealth for the day, then I have work to do from home, make dinner, help my older daughter with her homework, clean up dishes, etc. And I’m always physically exhausted on Thursday evenings. Ever since I was sick (which was 2007, for goodness sake!!), I’ve had zero stamina. I’m tired of being this very depleted player in my own story. I’m ready to be the author. I’m ready to be proactive. I’m more than ready.simplifying

This is why I’ve made health a priority as I go through this transforming process. I’ve committed to being more mindful in how I spend my time, and the food and drink I put into my body. Now, I know myself. If I make my commitment too big, I’ll never keep it. I’ll become discouraged. I’ll quit. So, I’m starting small.

I’ve committed to:

increasing hydration

decreasing sugar intake

*exercising* 15 minutes per day.

I say *exercising* because it’s probably not what most people would consider as exercise. I’m doing isometric and isotonic exercise while focusing on my breath. So I breathe through a flex and I breathe through a stretch, and I work every muscle in my body. This works with my scar tissue and reconfigured anatomy (from cancer and seven surgeries) and after about 10 days of this, I’m starting to notice increased range of motion in my shoulders. I have more energy. And I’ve dropped about four pounds. But all of this terrifies me. I’m afraid I’ll quit. I realize it sounds quite irrational, but I’ve decided to do this and I’m afraid I won’t. And so I write – and hope that it will keep me accountable.

 

 

Leave a Reply

