Day 3

birds on the feeder

Birds outside my kitchen window

Today, I began to work on my internal conversation. We all have one, those words and thoughts that fly through our minds. I know that how I think directs where I go, yet I allow all sorts of negative thoughts to go unchecked. This is the day that I start to turn that around.

I started by saying aloud – ‘This is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.’ I thought – today is a good day. I wonder what will happen today? I know it will be good.  –  It felt slightly ridiculous, but this is, after all, and experiment in self-transformation. And as awkward as this exercise in positive affirmation feels, I’m willing to do it if it will affect change.

I then thought of my positive qualities, and could only come up with one thing. I decided not to push it because, as I go through this everyday, my hope is that I will become more connected with my true self and more aware of my areas of giftedness. Today, I acknowledged that I am a giving, caring person, especially with my family, and I have very solid, healthy relationships with my children and husband. I want to be as authentic as possible, and this is truly all I could come up with today. I am looking forward to the day when this part is easier.

I then prayed, trying to connect with God and His presence before I really started my day. I visualized my day flowing very smoothly. I said good morning to my children with a smile on my face (my husband was already gone to work). I then thought of five things I’m thankful for today:

the home I live in
the beauty of falling snow
my husband
my bright and beautiful children
the Power to change, which resides in me.

Leave a Reply

